The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase - and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of this argument concludes that there is no specific need to increase the number of electrical equipment’s for impending future, due to the obvious results of a survey, and also recent progresses in electrical power industry; however, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of assumptions all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the outcome of the surveys can be entirely accurate, however, it is evident that there are some of the people who do not really pay adequate attention to these questionnaires’, since they might have this attitude that their ideas can not gain sufficient support from the government. Or maybe they may not answer to the mentioned questions candidly, so that may bring about decisions which are not really fruitful for the future of the both dwellers and of course the society.

The other problem with this conclusion is that the writer assumes that the things remain the same over the years, however it is transparent that suitable amount of equipments and facilities can cause the raise in the number of residences of a specific place such as a large city. In the other word, nowadays we can see a high number of immigrants from suburban areas who are willing to move to big provinces in orther to enhance the quality of their life, and make a better future for their oofsprings. The result of this phenomenon have many undeniable effects on the consumption of electrical power.

The third problem is that the writer would have us believe that novel inventions by human have always this feature to be efficient enough, although it is vivid that for manufacturing these kind of sophisticated technologies the first priority is electrical consumption. There for, the companies and factories demand high amount of electrical energy in order to supply the need of the people. In addition to this problem, the prices can be sometimes outrageous, as many people do not have this ability to utilize these devices in their homes , and that is only appropriate for some parts of the society who can afford high prices.

In brief, the conclusion cannot be taken to be correct, since, as it was shown in body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.