The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the above argument, the discussion is of replacing a private vendor, swift nutrition with some other ones which offer are healthy food to the students of Kensington Academy. I refute the above debate on the following points.

Firstly, they have not mentioned the nutrition of the food they are serving and, low fat and low-calorie does not prove as not having a healthy food else they are objecting that they are not giving junk food to the students. In fact, it is better for the student's health even though they do not enjoy their lunch. At this point in their age, healthy food is more important than them to enjoy their lunch as they are of growing age and their body needs a constant supply of high nutrients in the body.

Secondly, they have not given the exact number of students relying on this private vendor, swift nutrition for their lunches. Also, only some of their friends have the problem of this and no report of earlier of facing the same problem. It also says that this has lasted for a year now. It is also possible that the student's family would not afford these lunches and hence gives their lunchbox.

Thirdly, they have assumed that student brings their lunches which are not healthy. It might be possible that the students bring their lunch which is healthy as most of them have thinking of all the homemade foods are healthier than <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">outside food</span>.

In conclusion, the argument is unconvincing as it stands. To bolster it, they should have provided strong evidence claiming that students on bring unhealthy lunches if they do not rely on this and that the cafeteria is serving unhealthy food in the first place. Finally, to better evaluate the argument we would need more information about the number of students buying these lunches from them so that we can assess how to get healthy lunches to the students of the Kensington Academy.