The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that the business manager of a teivison station makes is that they have lost a huge number of viewers as their late-night program devotes more time to national news as compared to weather and local news. The first thing that needs to be evaluated is the basis on which the manager makes such a statement as in, is this the ony reason for the viewer churn, since i am from an data analytics background, i am quite confident that making such a statement would require data of viewers to prove it. Many points are to be evaluated here, is there anything else other than this that is botherig the viewers, if yes then what?

Another evidence that needs to be validated here is the quality of news being shown has it degreaded over time or is lacking the truth behind it. Also it could be case where the other competitor news channels are showing the similar news in an more informative and attractive way, as news is like a story telling the better you present the better you are. If the other competitive stations have gone better than the station managers decision to restore the time devoted to local and weather news to its former level will not yield disered results.

One of the means of these channel to earn money is through the advertisements they show during the show, since the channel is lossing its business from advetrisemets it may be possible that the advertisers are getting a playform form competitors to advertise at a cheaper price. If ture than the finance team should of the company should focus on pricing strategy to retain its advertisers as retoring back the local and waether news would not effect the advertisers to select there channel.

Since the arugement states that they have been rceiving complains from viewers regaring the chnage in late night news program it is possible that the viewers wants to know the weather forcast for the next day to plan their next day accordingly which a common middle class family does, for instance if the weather forecast shows that it might rain tommorow then the working person's from the family will be well prepared to carry umberella or to send their children to school or not and similar stuff.

Also people seems intrested in local news as well to be aware of whats happenning in their city, for instance a person with a tea stall in the main market area would be more intrested in a news saying that tommorw there will be a marathon in the city passing through the main market, in that case he can open his show a little early along with some juice bottles to make a little extra income.

If both the points stated in the previous pragraph are the reason for television station viewer churn then station managers decision to restore the local and weather news in late night program will help the station to get back their viewers also it might persuade the local business to advertise it on their platform as the channel will be good for local people and more local local crowd will watch it thus benefiting the advertisers also.

In the i would conclude by saying that if all the above mentioned arguments along with the statistical data of viewers from a poll or something is evaluated then the telivision ma