The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national

news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the

complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather

and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night

news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to

attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues,

we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states the business manager is claiming that there have been some complaints from the viewer regarding the weather, therefore to prevent this problem, they should restore the time to the former duration. While a cursory reading of this statement may see this quite reasonable, there exist several flaws in the manager's argument. The conclusion of this argument depends on some arguments, which are debatable, making the conclusion invalid.

First of all, the manager is implicating that, by increasing the time duration, the television station can hope to see complains plummeted. But, without any further inspection of the complain, the manager is clearly throwing peebles in the dark pond. In his statement, he did not mention the exact reason of complains, may be it is immaterial to the time duration of the weather forecast and local news, rather than the diminished quality of the news. The television might broadcast trivial local news and was briefing the weather of current day - not prognosticating the weather of upcoming day - which will definitely annoy the viewers. Instead, if the tv station focuses on improving on their news quality rather than augment the duration of the shows, that will satiate the viewers. Indeed, the argument would be strengthened if it clearly state the main reason behind the complains rather than just try for a risky solution.

Secondly, the argument states that, by increasing the time duration, they will not lose advertising revenues further. This is again a vague expression which does not provide any logical solution for resurgence of advertising revenues. However, the local business might forfeit their extension of contract with the tv station because their purpose for the advertisement - gaining local peoples' attraction towards their business - is successful, thereby no need of renewing the contract. Moreover, a few number of people watch the late night tv shows when these advertisements are broadcasted, which will not reap any profit for the respective promotion of the products, therefore the business companys may find another tv programs which will promote their products in the daytime. So, the tv station should take other measures by no means to increase their revenues.

Upon considering the several flaws, it can be concluded the argument is not impeccable at all. The manager must thoroughly analyze the problems before coming into any discreet decisions instead of merely augmenting the time duration. Nevertheless, the argument indubitable, if the analysis of the complaints were more accurately analysed, subsequently reaching at thoughtful decision, not by precipitating.