The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It can be observed that revenues from local businesses has taken a serious hit and ratings are also not as good as it was earlier according to survey conducted in recent times. Surveys show that though National news is covered at length and is appreciated it is very important for the viewers and investors to more concerned to understand what's happening in their neighborhood.

The volume of complaints received this year related to weather was also considerably higher than last year. It is important that we change our approach in such a way that we maintain the quality of national news but also concentrate and increase reports on local happenings too. Weather updates can be accommodate for 5 minutes slots 4 times a day included as part of longer programs. This way viewership can be increased gradually. And we can also accommodate one corner of the screen with flashes regarding weather across the city and country.

Local businesses can only advertise if they know that there are decent number of regional viewers. And we can increase regional viewership count only by allotting some time to local and news and include scrolls/headlines or flashes of local happenings at the bottom or top of the screen. It is also important that we add a 30 minute time slot that concentrates more on how neighborhood feels about local happenings. These kind of live programs can help increase viewers and also revenues from local businesses exponentially.