The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and

less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from

viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses

that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us.

Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues,

we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain

how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove

unwarranted.

Business manager of a television station writes a momarandun that they should expand their coverage of weather and local news on all their programs ,which comes from their thought that their viewers are not happy with more expand to national news .Also, they believe that local busunessed cut off their advertising to their channel which make them to take expand to more weather and local news.

First of all , the above notice is passed by over a year.So , how can they beleive that the locak businesses cut off the advertisment to only their channel.May be it can happen , theri regular customers don't need any more advertisment in the market and they are doing fine. Their whole assumption of viewers count and loosing of local advertisment didn't have any report or survey in which they are registered how much complaints they got over the year, how many are based on need of locak channes , and how many on weather channels.They should collect all the data based on how many new customers came up and how many of them they loose over a year in which they have increased time to national news.

If we talk about the loose of local businesses that used to advertise.There less number in the program can be many reasons like,they found better station in less price.It can easily happen in today's era .Competitor lessen their price to have more customers.Another factor can be possible is advertisers have decided that they will cast theri Ads in day-time for more viewers to catch their Ads.

At the end on the momarandun issues television station rely on the raw data and facts .If they want to expand more time to local and weather time ,they should do by choice and also if they want to do it by viewer's point of view .They should go by survey and must get back to complaints ,so that they can enquire the root cause for it.