Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

A society supports its influentialpeople to an extent that people constantly put efforts to become like them.However, these influential people/idols may not always deserve being worshipedby a huge population; they have a mass following due to a synthetic auracreated around them. The prompt suggests that one can judge the character ofmen and women of a society through observing its role models and idols. I agreewith the following claim due to the below three reasons.Firstly, a role model is a person, who is considered an image ofperfection and often people imagine themselves as that person in their heads inan attempt to be perfect. But it is not necessarily a good thing. For instance,if a person wants to become rowdy like some goons, he will definitely idolize apowerful person who takes advantage of their position. Therefore, this definitionof perfection in itself determines a lot about people who constitute a society.Furthermore,role models can be created using power and good publicity as well. Many peoplehide under a different face publically no matter how corrupt they are behindclosed doors. But this trend is not something that remains hidden for long. Forinstance, people in the USA considered golfer Tiger Woods as their idol in the early2000s. But a few years later, after an infamous scandal, the popularity of Tigersaw a severe downfall, which led to an end to him being a role model for mostof the people. Though he was still an exceptional player, but it did not helphim gain his reputation back. This is a great example of how a societycreates role models on the basis of an immaculate image and does not tolerate lowmoral standards.Lastly, inseveral cases, a person who is idolized and praised by people is not the mostgenuine man. Among the many instances, one such example is movie actors, whoare worshiped nationally. There are these artists who have various accusationson them along with criminal cases filed in their names. But does this makepeople think of them as any less of an inspiration? Well, probably not. Thisexplains a lot about the people who idolize such artists, as they do not seebeing a criminal that big or a deal. Hence, it reflects the character of thesociety like a mirror. People who can idolize and want to become like criminalsor corrupt people, most probably themselves are not genuine.On the other hand, some people may argue that, if people idolizesomeone because of any other reason such as their social image or philanthropicwork, it has nothing to do with the character of society as a whole. Though itmay look like a possibility, it does not reflect how morally corruptmethods of their idols do not affect them? Though their idols may be eloquentspeakers or exceptional footballers, ignoring their selfish and corrupttactics is not what a morally sound society can do.