The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum states that over the past year late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. A survey has been supported, the argument stating most of the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news, and some of the local businesses have canceled their contracts. An intriguing connection between the local businesses canceling their contracts and drop in viewership has been made, which if to be considered as true supports the assumption. The memorandum then draws a conclusion suggesting the restoration of news to formal levels to attract more viewers and further reduce losing out on local businesses.

The argument states that increased time of national news broadcasting resulted in the loss of local businesses and a drop in the percentage of viewers watching the television broadcaster. A supporting survey is provided, which if considered to be true could be the reason for low viewership and local businesses canceling their contracts. However, the extent of the survey has not been provided, meaning only a small proportion of the population could have been considered for the survey. Moreover, there is a possibility that the viewers who enjoyed the weather and local news might have been surveyed.

The assumption states that in order to attract more viewers and further reduction of losing local businesses, the television provider should restore broadcasting to its former levels. However, the extent of popularity of certain programs can vary across any given region. Restoration of news to its former levels could help the television provider attract viewers, but a person enjoying the weather and local news may not necessarily suggest everybody enjoys watching the same.

In conclusion, the argument fails to substantiate data and relevant statistics that would enable the business manager to draw conclusions supporting the provided argument. The extent of the survey is important in determining the assumption and thus, the given memorandum fails to do so with proper statistics that can be relied upon.