The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The argument states that over the past year they have given more time or importance to national news and have given less time to weather and local news. Due to this complaints have been raised by viewers regarding lower weather and local news coverage. Because of this, many local businesses have cancelled the contract with them. So, they need to attract more viewers by increasing the weather and local news to the original level. The argument is a weak argument as it lacks evidence, data and reasons which I have mentioned below.

Firstly, the argument states that the views have raised complaints regarding the devoted time to local and weather coverage but the argument lacks to provide the data as there might be some viewers who think the opposite and their view or side has not been portrayed here. It is not possible to know from the argument that how many audience dislike this and how many like the national news. That can be known only when certain statistics are provided. For example, 75% dislike and 25% like this idea, then the argument makes a strong stand.

Secondly, the argument states the solution for the problem faced by them. I think it is not good to jump to the conclusion that increasing the time to the original or formal level of local and weather news would increase the viewers and lower the complaints. As it is possible that when one implements this solution, complaints for national news increase due to lower time and they might lose the contract of national news. So the best way would be to maintain a balance in both so they keep the viewers as well as the contracts.

Lastly, the argument mentions local businesses that used to advertise during late night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with them. Here they have not mentioned anything about weather news businesses and so it is very unlikely to conclude that weather news needs more time or they too cancelled a contract with them. As there is no evidence of that, it can't be said that weather news coverage needs to increase in time.

The argument given is a weak statement which lacks data, surveys, evidence and thoughtful reasons to support the argument. Firstly it lacks the data to base the argument on, then the solution given is not reasonable enough as the evidence is missing and similarly the cancellation of contracts too lacks evidence.