The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station

“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the devoted to weather and local news to former level.”

The assumption that to attract more viewers to the program and aviod losing further adverstising revenue, would be restored by bringing back weather and local news to its formal level might seem true at first glance. The author assertion about restoring the weather and local news to its former level would be true if the author's conclusion is not only based on the underlying assumptions but provides more conclusive assumptions.

Firstly, the author asumes that the local businesses cancelled their advertising contracts due to the removal of the weather and local news. What if they deceided to cancel it because they got other cheaper alternatives and that television station charges a fee they feel seems high compare to others. The author didn't provide a solid reason to why they left but just assumed they left because of the weather and local news that the television staion stopped. The author didn't consider other options that could lead to them swtiching to other television stations.

Additionally, what if their competitors has introduced other perks that had lured these local businesses to move to their television stations. Or what if they decided to stop operating not because of the weather and local news that were stopped but because they are not generating sufficient revenue from the advertsisement- the adverstisement is not providing enough traction to them and they don't see the benefit of them continuing with these advertisement.

The local businesses could have decided to adopt social media as a better way of adverstising instead of using television stations. Given the recent change by people to use social media and spend ample time there. Nowadays, social media is the new normal and most people spend their time on social media. The local business could have noticed this change and decided to transistion to using it instead of television stations.

The author's conslusion could have been more solid if there were other conclusive evidence that depicts the movement of the local businesses and not just stating that they moved as a result of the local news and weather forecast that was ended. Other reasons could have caused them to move and not necessaarily the afforementioned by the author.