'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum stated above relies on the premise that the decrease in coverage of the weather and local news has led to various customers complaining and cacellation of various advertising agreements.To solve this a proposal to increase the coverage of weather and local news has been made.Which according to me is flawed.

Firstly the complaints are about the coverage of the weather or local news.This may be due to the fact that the news channel as they have to show a minscule amount of weather and local news do not do their in depth study and analysis and just provide a a facile news regarding the weather and local regions. So the complaints may be about the quality of these news being presented rather than the quantity.

The advertising agencies cancelling their agreements with the news channel may have numerous other reasons. The viewers may be interested in other national topics which the channle thinks are irrelevant and thus losing viewers which in turns affects their advertising revenues.

Increasing the coverage time for weather and local news does not guarantee the increased viewership and the increased revenues.There may be a possibility that there exists a greater demand for national news but the channel fails to capitalize on it properly by telecasting shows that are not in greater demand.Or even it may present it in such a way that puts off many viewers.

To make sure the viewership and revenues both increase the main underlying problem has to found out. Whether the quantity or the quality is the main reason for putting of viewers.Once this is achieved it may be an easier path for the news company to devise future paths.And always remember News is an acronym for North East West South. So to make it regional specific may be an insult to its meaning