The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

There are several pieces of evidence not mentioned in the argument, which are crucial for a jump from the problem to its solution. It is mentioned that most of the complaints that were received were regarding coverage of local and weather news. This does not imply that the lesser time given to the local and weather news is the problem, and no evidence regarding the specifics of the complaints are mentioned to reach any conclusion. It may have been the case that the complaints could have been regarding the deteriorating quality of the local news presented, or they might be regarding the accuracy of certain facts shown in the local and weather news. If so, the action proposed as a solution would aggravate the problem. Only if there is any evidence that complaints are due to the shorter local and weather news, requesting to increase their duration, then the proposed actions make sense and are logical. However, the argument has assumed this implicitly.

Regarding the cancelling of the contracts, no reason is mentioned regarding the cancelling of contracts. It is implicitly assumed that the reason is reduction of the viewership of local viewers which is due to a reduction of local and weather news time. It is definitely possible that the local businesses have collaborated with a different news channel, which is a competitor of this television station, which may have led to cancelling of contracts with this station. If true, the proposed solution will not make any difference in the advertising revenues, as the problem is not being addressed.

It is also not given that previously the complaints from the viewers were not lesser than they are now. Thus, it may be possible that the giving more time to national news may have reduced the complaints from viewers. If this is the case, then the solution proposed will be counterproductive, giving the opposite results of what the manager might expect.

Thus, these are the pieces of evidence that are missing in the argument, and while if favourable evidence is present, the argument may be correct, but otherwise the solution presented can produce a disastrous and a counterproductive effect.