The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager recommends that the television station should restore the weather and local news program in order to attract more viewers and to avert losing more advertising revenues. To bolster his recommendation, he presents the evidence of complaints from viewers regarding the coverage of weather and local news programs and also the cancellation of advertising contracts between local businesses and the television station. The argument seems to be cogent at first glance, but it reveals several logical flaws, as some key evidences are not shown.

To begin with, the manager points out that the complaint received for the past year are mainly concerned with the station’s coverage of weather of local news. However, the manager does not mention about how many complaints received last years. Perhaps the number of the complaints is very low and the complaints are only from a very small proportion of the viewer. If this is the case, such complaints can not represent the overall situations. Without detailed information about the exact number of the complaints received regarding the coverage of weather and local news, I will not be convinced by the recommendation given by the manager.

Secondly, another reason, which is the cancellation of advertisement contracts between the station and local firms, is mentioned by the manager to support his recommendation. However, local businesses terminate their contracts with the station may just be a coincidence and have nothing to do with the weather and local news programs. Perhaps, local economy is facing a recession and companies have to cut down their cost in order to withstand the delimma. Moreover, perhaps local enterprises are switching to online advertisements, which are much cheaper and attract more viewer, as the development of internet industry has influenced the ways people to enjoy their spare time. Unless the manager presents detailed investigation about the reason why local businesses canceled their advertisement contracts with the station, the recommendation made by him may be acceptable.

In sum, the manager fails to point out some significant evidences to buttress his suggestion which is to restore the time devoted to weather and local news, for example the data about the exact number of the complaints and reasons why local businesses terminate the contracts. Without such evidences, it leaves the argument unwarranted.