The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given memorandum the business manager of the television station is concern about the advertising revenues and took step to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The main reason for curtail the time of local news and weather is the late-night news program mentioned by the business manager of a television station. But there are also some other points to be considered before jumped to the conclusion.

Moreover, the weather and local news viewer are more during morning and evening time because they are busy during a day in work and they don't have time to watch late night television. For example before going to office everyone is interested to know about city not in late-night. So it may be possible that the television station broadcast less news related to weather and local city due to which the viewers are not happy.

Furthermore, the national news and debate in political parties are also important to broadcast because it gives new perspective to public as well as the weather and the local news also important at their place. So the television station may broadcast both simultaneously. For example the weather and local news can show in a narrow line below the screen so that viewer get information with running program as today’s news channels displayed.

Additionally, in the given argument the author did not mentioned the statistical evidences for decrease in coverage of weather and local news. Only on the basis of viewers complain the product could not be prohibited or change. The business manager should collect proper evidences after research conclude what should be done by the station.

Finally, the argument did not have proper evidence in favor and on the basis of aforementioned reasons in spite of reducing the time of late-night news program the manager should find other strategies.