The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

The given argument if flawed for a variety of reasons. Primarily, it makes the unwarranted assumption that a multi-million dollar subway system would solve traffic congestion, leading to better worker productivity and improved economy, without gathering reliable date. Therefore, rendering the argument invalid.

The government has not bothered to ascertain whether the public would be willing to use a subway system. Furthermore, whether these major downtown areas are where majority of traffic congestion takes place, has not been established. The argument would have been strengthened if the government provided reliable data of public's willingness to use a subway system and whether this system would indeed curb traffic congestion.Furthermore, if buses are more preferred by the public then the governement should focus on introducing more buses to solve the issue of inconsistent timings. Nevertheless, if the government still pursues the initiative of bulding a multi-million dollar subway system without gathering the required information, then this initiative would hurt the economy more rather than improving it.

Second unwarranted assumption made by the government is that of establishing a connection between safety and subway system. In other words, just because a mode of transportation has been changed does not guarantee absence of crime from that medium of transport. To subdue crimes on public transport the government should focus on installing CCTV security cameras, and introduce patrol guards at each station.

Third, the government makes the assumption of less traffic being commensurate with worker productivity. While, traffic can somewhat affect the productivity of a worker, the extent of this affect has not been established and therefore cannot be thought of as the sole attribute affecting productivity. Various other factors like upper management, company incentives, stability at home etc. also affect productivity.

Conclusively, the argument, by making several unwarranted assumptions has been redered, invalid.