The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument asserts that mayor harrison is planning to build a multi-million dollar subway system to reduce the traffic congestion Briggsville. The argument is based on some assumptions which have to be proved before building such a huge progect.Following paragraphs will explain what those assumptions are, and how those assumptions are going to affect the argument.

First of all the before starting such a huge a progect, we should consider whether is it actually neccessary or not. Mayor should try to encourage people adopt car pooling and should encourage companies to change timings, such that a lot employees who use that road at a same time will be reduced.A sagacious man would not come to a conclusion of building a subway to solve the traffic problem without considering any easier alternatives. The argument also ignores the increase of traffic congestion while constructing the subway. Completing such a huge task cannot be done in a short span, so there will be increase in traffic problems because of the construction work.

The argument did not mention on how to tackle that problem. The argument says about building the subway which will run through major downtown areas. It assumes that the traffic is more in those areas without any proper data, which is not mentioned in the argument.

The argument also assumes that once the subway is built major population uses that, by which there will be a reduction in the traffic. Before making such an assumption it should consider what percentage of the population in those areas are willing to use public transport(subway) for their daily commuting. The argument also mentions the lack of safety when riding in busses and it assumes the safety is improved when they travel in the subway. The Mayor have mention on how he is going to improve the safety measures in the subway.

The Mayor also assumes that the reduced work productivity is just because of people waiting more time in the traffic. There can be other reasons as well like the offices might not be paying their employes properly ,etc. The argument says that it is gonna be a multi million dollar progect and it fails to mention if the government have that kind of money to build it.

So constructing such a huge project with out considering all the points mentioned above will be a ingenuous move. Proper data should be provided supporting the assumptions made in the argument. Only after validating those, such a huge project should be started.