The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Manned space flights are dangerous whoever traveling in that and also it consumes a large amount of money. This can be overcome by using the unmanned space flights, the recent success stories of unmanned space probes are all over and it is better if we choose this path rather than taking risks with humans. It's better if we invest in unmanned space flight. The argument seems logical at first glance. To find the flaws we need to analyze very keenly.

Firstly, if we use unmanned space flights we are able to reduce the danger and also the cost. Unmanned in the sense, it is fully automated. The automated means no man power, so the cost is higher than manned space flight. We need to program the positive and negative things which we occur in the previous phase. By stating the cost, the author is already wrong. The cost is high in unmanned only. The author failed to update the flaws.

Secondly, another thing is the unmanned needs a perfect protocol and program to follow. If we lose contact or it face with any damage means it will not work. The result is mission cancelled or failed.It becomes a big loss to the scientist and all. If it reaches above the stratosphere means surely error occurs. The error occurs or not purely depends on the atmospheric conditions like temperature and climate, the negative and positive particles around there. So the author should clearly state the things.

Thirdly, the author relies on the success of a series about the unmanned space probes. There are also lot of news out there but he only relies on the success stories only. If the failure occurs, then they do not know what to do in order to correct that. The thing should have both positive and negative things. If the author is prejudiced the positive side only then what about the negative things. Suppose we fix some range to land the probe, if it is already occupied by any other satellite means there will be a huge explosion between the two flights and creates a catastrophic destruction.

Manned space flights may have a risk but it is way better than unmanned one. For the past decades, manned space flights are successfully completed the mission. It does not needs to be fully automated or do any program to perform tasks. The pilots inside the flights how to handle a tedious things by using their experiences not like unmanned. The main thing is cost of manned is low than unmanned.

In conclusion the author needs to state the facts clearly. The above mentioned facts are not stated clearly so it is open to the debate. If the argument should have a strong point means the author should substantiate the things.