The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of the argument claims that council of Centerville must ban use of cell phone on sidewalk, since it led to increase in rage and undesirable consequences, such as assaults and property damage. It is based on the premises that people on sidewalk use phone, which makes their movement slow, which in turn presents an obstacle to other fellow pedestrians. Moreover, the similar restriction in the council of Middletown has cured these problems. The argument seems true at first sight, however, on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a number of unverified evidences and logical flaws.

First, the argument has assumed that council of Middletown and Centerville are analogous. However, there may be the case that where these councils are not comparable due to differences in their population of walkers and width of road which would make such comparison irrelevant. This can be exemplified by the study conducted by Delhi Traffic Police in 2016 which proved that the rise in road raze in Western Districts of Delhi cannot be comparable to that of Eastern Districts, since roads in Western side are not wide enough to accommodate increase in traffic, whereas the cause of road rage in Eastern side was due to the establishment of certain anti-social element. Therefore, in order to overcome this flaw, the writer should collect evidence from police or transport or road authorities from these two councils and should also demonstrate that these two councils are comparable.

Second, the argument has assumed that only the use of cell phone on sidewalk has caused such problems. However, there may be the case that other factors, such as increase in population due to economic opportunities in Centerville, have caused rise in side walkers on sidewalk which would make the argument highly unreliable. For instance, the study conducted by Mumbai Transport authority in 2010 proved that the cause of slow movement of traffic on roads for the period 2006 to 2010 was not the use of cell phones by drivers, but the migration of people from other parts of India to Mumbai in search of better education, job and health. Thus, in order to make the argument more valid, the writer should compile evidence from the road and transport authority of Centerville about the potential rise in side walkers and should prove that population of walkers had not increased in the last three years.

Third, the argument has assumed that all or maximum walkers have caused this problem. However, there may be the case that only few anti-social people were involved in rage and made whole community stigmatized which would make the argument significantly weak. A good example of this is the case study done by Bangalore Police in 2018 to ascertain the cause of rise in crimes in Bengalore city. The study provided shocking results, since it showed that rise in crimes for last five years were not ascribed to the general tendency of people to resort to criminal activities, but were attributed to the fifteen people, who entered the city and with their local accomplice committed such atrocities. Thus, in order to make the argument more reliable, the writer should compile the evidences from the local city police about the number of people involved in rage and should also assert that all people are resorting to such problems.

After close examination of the argument presented, it is clear that the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on certain unverified evidences. The recommendations in the above paragraphs show how this argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound in order to evaluate the viability of the proposed measure.