In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Progress can be measured on different parameters that depend on situation such as progress in a private commercial organization is focused on collectively achieved profits while progress in welfare organization is focused on serving the needs of the people without selfish interest. Therefore, to achieve the objectives of any institution, progress requires discussion with the people who may have opposing views. It is important for the society to listen to these opposing views in order to achieve overarching effect since, these opposing views can highlight areas which may be overlooked because of bias or prejudice. While there is no reservation that sometimes progress gets hinder because of these opposing views, still there are reason to believe that these opposing views are necessary.

First such reason that supports the view that opposing views are necessary is that welfare or public well-being can be achieved only with the consideration of these views. In politics, though leaders are elected by the rule of majority, it does not mean that people who voted for other leaders do not deserve to be listened. Their opposing views can question the authorities and demand accountability for actions that have large scale impact. For example, the decision taken by Indian Government in 2019 created the environment of fear by implementing a tax on foreign investors and it was passed by the parliament since the Government had majority. Though the opposing views were considered insignificant earlier before the implementation of tax, later it proved beneficial and therefore, Government realised its mistake and redacted the tax rules. Therefore, opposing views have the potential to beacon the right and appropriate signals for the authorities.

Second reason that buttresses the narrative of opposing view is that in order to check or limit the use of unquestionable exercise of power by police, contrasting views prevents police personnel from resorting to violent treatment of people. Often police personnel are charged with maintaining the law and order in a designated area and are entrusted with authority to use measures that they deem necessary for maintaining the civil laws. However, they are also inclined to use their powers for their own benefits or for their vendetta. For example, the police regulations of 2017 in Delhi allowed police personnel to detain anyone who they deem to be terrorist. The result was unprecedented since police personnel used their biased treatment and detained many innocents that had not had any previous criminal background. The opposing views were presented earlier before the Government requesting to change the law were proved right after such incidences and consequently Government amended the law. Therefore, contrasting views are necessary to prevent innocent people and to achieve success from the intended change.

However, one such view that argues that contrasting views prevents the success is irrationality. In organizations employees work collectively to achieve the common goals of the organization. However, in pursuit of this, often some employees resort to unscrupulous means for their personal benefit and prevent the necessary change in a way to success. For example, the study conducted by behavioural scientists in 2016 in India, covered 180 large companies, concluded that due to the diversity among employees, few employees use machination with the support of top management and hinder the progress of the company for their personal benefits. Therefore, sometimes opposing views prove hindrance to success.

While concluding, as can be seen from above passages that though opposing views sometimes prove to be a roadblock in a way to desirable change, but when it comes to the welfare and public well-being, opposing views prevent the authorities from exercising absolute power. Therefore, opposing views are necessary for progress that involve welfare.