The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of co-education, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

According to the recommendation, Grove college should maintain its century old tradition of all female education. To make this conclusion, the recommnedation assuems the result of survey done with students and alumunai and probable loss of moral among its associates and chance of financial byocott. I found this arugument irrational because it is based on several flawed assumptions.

Firstly, the recommendation assumes the result of survey done among its student about the future modality of the college education. As mentioned earlier, eighty percent of them were in favor of all female education. One importnat point to be noted is student responding to that survey might be responding dishonestly. They might be responding on the basis of ' who cares' attitudes. Their instant respeonse does not represent their true intention, maybe. Thus, before taking survey, the surveyor should have intrepreted the future impact of the survey and want them to respond honestly.

Secondly, the recoomandation stated that over a half of the alumunaies were responding are aganist coeducation. Firstly, the survey does not mention the how manmy of total alumunaies actually respeonded to the survey. This point can cast doubts on the authenticity of the survey. Again, same cases arises that, if they were actually been honest with trhe surveyor? Were they imformed about possible use of the survey? If no, then how can anybody conclude to any point point on the basis of those datas.

Thirdly, the college wants to remain stick to its century old tradition so as to keeping high morale among its associates and keeping on getting financial support from its donnars. How could they know the coeducation subsides them? This the the world of inclusiveness and people tend to be more supportive to the tradition that equally favors both men and women. Also, it would be audacious to declare that coeducation can actulally reduce morale, where is is exacly opposite. Thus, college should think critically about morale and finacial suport.

In the final analysis, the recommendation is based upon the flawed assumption , so it is irrational. To strengthen the argument, the college adminstration should introspect about the credibility of survey done with both students and alumunies and real reasons to keep on morale and financial support.