The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the memo, the number of viewers for Super Screen produced movies have reduced while the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers have increased. Thus the advertising director suggests that a greater share of budget needs to be allocated for advertising from the coming year onwards. Though the suggestion given by the director may hold water, but there are several unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated, will weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. therefore the following questions must be addressed.

First, it is said in the memo that the percentage of the positive reviews from the movie reviewers have increased. does this mean that the number of positive reviews have increased? The memo does not give a count of the total number of movie reviewers who have reviewed. therefore, the number of positive reviews may be lower than in any other years. The data mentioned is insufficient to determine if there is an improvement in the quality of the movie.

Second, the argument states that the there is lack of awareness among the people about the good quality movies that are available. but is it true that the fewer number of viewers is bcause of this reason? there can also be a possibility that the advertising has reached many people and these people just chose not to view it as they doubt its quality. it is necessary to carry out thorough survey, that provides information about the number of people who are aware of the movie and their opinions about it.

it is mentioned in the memo, that the contents of the reviews are not reaching the prospective viewer. but does this mean that there is lack of advertising strategies? it may also be the case, that the reviews have reached the public and because of these reviews, the y

In conclusion, the director might have proposed a sound solution by stating that the problem lies not with the quality of the movie but with lack of awareness among people. And he/ she might also be right in suggesting that a greater share of budget be allocated to advertising rather than to improve the quality of the movies. but more data is needed before we reach the final decision. if the director answers the above questions, then the answers might help in properly evaluating the validity of the argument.