The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

For the given recommendation to work, one must carefully scrutinize the implicit and explicit assumptions to make an informed decision. I will explore some of the considerations that would check the soundness of the recommendation.

First of all, the argument in favour of the decision assumes that the positive reviews that are generated for super screen movies hold true for majority of the films produced by them. The advertising director clearly mentions that the precentage of positive reviews increased for specific movies. This migh not stand true for all the movies. Maybe there were two movies which were well-received by critics while others were panned or not appreciated. If the company produces 100 films a year out of which two are generating positive buzz then it would still perform underwhelmingly due to the tanking of the majority .Under such circumstances, the precentage increase in positive reviews might not translate in box office numbers for the company .

Even if all of the abhove can be further dismissed by citing evidence that answer those questions, still , there might be other reasons that could account for the increase in percentage of positive reviews. Maybe the percentage increase was too small or insignificant for it to really reflect an appreciable increase in viewership. For instance , the increase was about a percent or two while at the same time it was around 10-16 for films of other production houses. If this is true , then it would seriously attack the assumption of precentage increase in favourable reviews as these numbers clearly are either too impercentable or are dwarfed the ones achieved by its competitors.

The director also states that the reason for fewer ticket sales is not because of sub par quality but only because of a lack of awareness in the masses for their movies and not the quality per say and which could be bridged by advertisiting. In stating this, there is an explicit assumption that quality of movies is solely determined by the evaluation of movie reviewers. What if the movie critics are not conversent with the taste of the general audience or more importantly what if the audience is not interested in paying money to watch these movies. Furthermore , maybe the entire market economy has suffered this year and citizens in general are trying to manage thier households by cutting down on non -essentials. If any of these senarios prove to be true , then this would seriously undermine the director's claim of increasing advertising to increase their audience.

All in all , the decision has to answer these key considerations before getting the nod.