Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

In any educational institution the quality of learning for students is primarily shaped by its teachers. The teacher tries to draw from his repertoire of knowledge and domain experience to impart quality education to its students. I strongly agree with the prompt as it suggests that these teachers should get out of their Ivory towers to witness , learn and adapt through their experiences in the real world which would then help them get a good handle on the current state of their subject of expertise . I will explore two reasons for my position in this essay.

Firstly , it would help the governments to surmount the scourge of unemployment. Unemployment rates have soared for states around the globe , not because of a dearth of jobs but primarily due to the subpar crop of students that are produced by their institutions each and every year. These fresh graduates and post graduates, mainly because of lack of skills and knowledge, are unable to seize the huge surplus of opportunities that they are presented with. Therefore, If the recommendation in prompt is implemented , faculty members can get conversent with the pressing needs of their germane industries which would enable them to plug the talent gap through periodic tweaks in their course content as per the industry demands as well as distribution of valuable insights to students in order to ensure their preparedness for jobs. In India ,the industry experts often moan about the lack of quality coming out of universities and blame the teaching staff for either teaching outdated curriculum or things of little significance in the practical world. This collaboration between colleges and industries would ensure a healthy supply of talent which can not only ease in but excel in these jobs.

Secondly, necessitating the teaching staff to explore their professional domain will quite clearly provide filip to research. This would be an obvious departure from the traditional route where in research was

contingent on government funds. Instead, this novel approach would entail a close collaboration between grant makers and faculty to bring about quality research in the direction that can efficiently dispatch problems . For instance , a professor in neurology on discovering the pressing need to work on substance abuse during his time at a mental hospital would certainly go on to pursue research work in substance abuse. The alignment of corporate and academic interest would make sure that research avenues are tailored to solve real world problems for mankind improving on both the qualitative and quantitative aspects of exploration. Conversely, the present system of non-aligned research goals between the professional and academic sides leads to poor funding as well as inefficient use of funds; The difference between development of a drug to treat side effects of an urgent issue of substance abuse to one which deals with issues that don’t have such primacy cannot be overstated.

All in all , it must be said that If this recommendation is paid heed then this would prove to be very advantageous for countries.