Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Our young generation's leadership skills would determine the evolution of modern societies. The outcome of their actions would shape the future of mankind. These actions would be performed with a combination of a sense of cooperation and competition. I mildly disagree with the prompt that the spirit of all such endeavors should be cooperation and not competition. According to my standpoint, a society needs to carefully tread on a line in middle of two spirits. I would explore the boundaries and specifics of both in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the guiding principle of cooperation ensures that societies don't work at cross purposes and thereby increase their productivity . Almost nothing can be brought to fruition with efficieny without a sense of collaboration.

Consider the classic case of a pin experiment designed by the eminent Adam smith

in the 18th century. If one craftsman were to make a pin , then he would have to procure metal , draw a wire and finally mould it into a pin. The manufacturing time in this case would be close to an entire day or two for a few pins. In constrast, If there were three parties involved each at the helm of one aspect of production- one for metal extraction , one for drawing the wire and finally, one for moulding, this would make sure that we produce pins in hundreds for a single day. This is the fundamental principle of modern market economies which rely on cooperation between various parties to boost productivity and create a win-win for all the stakeholders involved through a better prodcuct and cheaper prices. Without this sense of cooperation, we would all be baking our own bread for an entire day. In essance, our economies stand today with the cement of cooperation.

Competition, on the other hand ensures that we all strive to better our own selves and our work products thereby making sure that the qualitative aspect of our actions doesn't get compromised. It's the fuel that drivcs us to come up with increasingly better solutions in a bid to outrun our rivals. Nevertheless, one should carefully weave a thin line between the two as cooperation can sometimes lead to complacency and lack of accountability while competition can make us miss the bigger picture.