"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo taken form the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company states that a greater budget should be allocated to reach the public through advertising. The memo reasons that in spite of an increase in the the percentage of positive reviews from movie reviewers, there was a decrease in the number of people attending their movies. Before this recommendation is taken, a few questions need to be answered.

The memo states that the contents of the reviews aren't reaching the viewers. But what if it is reaching them and it's just that they aren't interested in the genre of the movie? It may be possible that the reviews are reaching the audience, who, because of their non-enthusiasm for that type of movie genre, decide to not watch it. This factor, if true, can seriously cause a dent in the budget of the company, without an increase in audience.

The report from marketing states that fewer people attended their movies in the past year. What if people, instead of watching movies, have decided to spend their time doing something else - maybe go on a picnic or hangout with their family and friends? People go to the movies for various reasons including relieving stress or just for entertainment. It may be possible that these people have found other ways to achieve those goals - maybe yoga or meditation. If this is affirmative, it will seriously hamper the reasons stated in the memo to increase the budget.

What if the financial status of the company is plummeting and they don't have any more money available to allocate to the advertising sector? Since the company experienced a decline in audience, it may be possible that the company's finances have extinguised and there is no more money to allocate further. Furthermore, what is the guarantee that the audience will increase with the increase in the budget allocated. What if it doesn't, due to the forementioned possibilities? This will only lead to a loss of funds, which, if available, could be put to a more judicious use. This is a very important question that must be answered before considering the recommendation.

Although, it may seem that advertising will help increase the number of people attending the movies, it is important to consider the above mentioned possibilities and it's impact on the people. Ignoring these circumstantial possibilities may lead to a greater decline of the company, than a rise. So, the memo doesn't consider the various possibilities and outcomes of the recommendation made, which could have an adverse effect on the company. Hence, it is imperative to answer the above questions before reaching a conclusion about this agenda.