The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Apex Corporation proposes a business solution to increasing demands to a certain variety of coffee, but in doing so it makes some unwarranted assumptions that might pave a different outcome than what is expected by the company.

Establishing a new line of coffee,"Gourmet Select", might not be an answer to the increasing demand problem.There is a possibility that the demand has soard for a specific brand of artisan coffee and not for the category as a whole.In this case, the company needs to dive deep into the analyzing the sales of the various categories of artisan coffee and pinpoint on the exact source of increase in demans.It is possible that the demand continues to rise even after introducong a new product, as the exact source of the problem,potentially a particular existing line of coffee, has yet not been ramped up in productions.

Nonetheless,assuming that the bove assumption is justified, the further assumption that introducing the new produc in major supermarkets would sustain sales also seems to be highly unlikely.Market entry for a new product is always a risky gambit, and it is equally likely to be not accepted by the customer base.In that case, the "word-of-mouth advertising", on which the corporation so heavily relies on, might produce negative outcomes, with the product gathering dust on the supermarket shelves and eventually being replaced by the stores.It would be better that the corporation first perspicaciously tests out the acceptability and market pentration of the new product before introducing it to a vast customer base through major supermarkets.

Yet another fallacy that can be pointed out in the corporation's bussiness strategy is the vague timeline of "few months", post which the corporation plans to use media and restaurants as channels for their advertising campaigns. It would be more rational from a business perspective if the company chalks out a more concrete timeline and course of action ahead of introducition in supermarkets, based on the response they get from the later step .The next steps would otherwise prove to be a waste of time,energy and resources.

In the end, the final goal of making the new product line "one of the otp sellers in the coffee industry", does not seem to be in concordance with the initial problem statement that the corporation set out to address,i.e.,to answer the increasing demand. It is highly probable that the problem still remains unaddressed ven if the new product becomes a top selling coffee line. The corporation seems to start with a "supply-demand" problem and ends up devising the strategy for a "market entry" problem.