Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The given arguement in the letter vouches for investments in unmanned space probes and satellites, and lists out various arguements to support its conclusion. However, there are certain fallacies and unwarranted assumptions in the letter that need to be pointed out before a careful consideration of it's conclusions. For example, the 'recent' success of the unmanned probes and satellites do not mention the statisctics and the number of successful lanuches and also the kind of success it achieves. Another patent unwarranted assumption made is that whther these unmanned missions made able to perform the tasks and meet objectives that a manned mission sets out to meet. Lets explore and analyse some of these assumptions in detail.

Firstly, the letter talkes about the recent successes of the unmanned missions, and the great deal of information gathered from them. However, the author of the letter does not elaborate this statement any further, neither does she support it with relevant facts and figures.There is a need to understand the types of success these mission achieve as well as the type of data that they are capable of capturing. It is possible that the objectives of a manned mission - their definition of 'success' and the type of data that they aim to capture - are completely different from those of an unmanned mission, and require rigorous human interference and research that cannot be automated by an unmanned mission. In such a case, an unmanned mission cannot replace its counterpart solely because of the costs and risks involved.

In addition to the type of success, the author also fails to quantify the "recent successes" of the unmanned missions. One can accept the fact that there might have been some recent success in this domain, but investing further into it without a knowlege of the 'depth and breadth of these successes' in the domain just does not seem right. It is possible that the unmanned satellite mission teams have been making some short trips for a shorter duration of time in space, as opposed to manned missions spending months and years on some planet which is certain light-years away. Also it is possible that, there have been only a few recent successes in the unmanned missions,for example,some ten odd successful missions; as opposed to a hundred successful ones by its manned counterpart, which has been operative since long before the idea of sending robots into space was conceived. In such a case, it is quite clear that a possiblity of unmanned mission being in its nascent staged of development exists, and thus still requires to go a long way before it can replace manned missions.

Also an important assumption here is that the further investement in umanned mission would not incur as much costs as manned missions do. It is possible that, technological advancements make automation a much more costly process than manned missions. Also, not knowing the ulterior motives of the author of the letter is a fallacy. It is very well possible that the author is a official of the unammned satellite department looking to gather funds, through advertising the cons of the manned missions in a well-known magazine.