The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department,during the past year,fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year.Clearly,the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers.Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available.Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising"

The recommendation of increasing the advertising budget made by the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production company seems to have developed on numerous unwarranted assumptions and biases.The most important one that is conspicuous here is the fact that fewer audience does not directly imply a need for bigger wallet for the advertising department.Also, the report should be expressed in more quantifiable terms in order to narrate an accurate story.

Firstly, a dearth in the audience of the past year cannot be directly attributed to need for more expenses to be made on the advertising front.People not going to the movies can be a general scenario in the past year,with a varied set of reasons.It is possible that the past year resulted in a minor - if not an obvious one- economic setback which affected the audience in general.This can be verified by the company on digging deeper into the possible reasons that would prevent a customer from going to the movies.

Apart from this, there is also a possibility that the company did not cater to the expectations of its high revenue generating customer segment.For instance, it is possible that the company has a vast customer base among the younger generations, and the past year did not see many movies being produced in genres popular among this segment of the customer base.As a result, a vast segment of the customer base was left lost out on.An accurate mapping of the customer base to the movies produced in the past year would thus help identifying whether this was a potential cause.

As discussed in the preceding paragraph,not producing the "right kind" of movies, also makes one ponder over the definition of "good quality movies" that the report implies.This definition seems to be too vague and loosely bound to the increase in positive reviews.This increase in positive reviews for some "specific Super Screen movies" does not define a good quality movie in general.Its is highly likely that the reviewers belonged to a particular customer segment that enjoyed that "specific" genre of movies. Also, a percentage increase in positive reviews does not equate to the same amount of appreciation in numbers.The company should compare the number of total reviews in the past year with those of other years and then take a call on this point.

Lastly, understanding the motive of the Avertisement director behind recommending a larger wallet for his own department is also something to tak note of.It is possible that personal gains would bias his conclusions and recommendations,as an expensive department implies,in most cases, an expensive and wealthy director.To tackle this, a probe, as to whether the existing advertisement channels can be optimised to attain desired results, should be launched.