GRE Argument: An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Deficiency of vitamin A is generally not healthy to the human body. As such the effort of the international development organization in identifying the impoverishment in the nation of Tagus to be due to Vitamin A deficiency needs to be lauded.

This recommendation however, is not conclusive. This is because there may be several other factors that compound to this impoverishment. This might include, poor standards of living, poverty, pollution and contamination of resources such as water, air and the list goes on.

As a result of this, the government of Talus has much more work to do, than just recommend the new breed of millet. The government might need to work on providing adequate social amenities as well as ensuring proper disposal of waste, increasing the minimum wage, and setting embargoes and penalties on pollution.

If this is not the case, and the cause of the impoverishment has been found scientifically and not skeptically to be due to vitamin A deficiency, then the government needs to conduct scientific evaluation for more sustainable solutions to this problem. Such scientific evaluation would help understand the gravity of the situation and also help convince the people that the engineered breed of millet is the best solution for the problem.

Furthermore, the government needs to know if the cultivation and consumption of such millet seeds by the inhabitants of Tagus would holistically and totally curb the impoverishment.

In addition to these, the government needs to conduct research to find out if there other natural supplements that can be utilized, and not just the engineered breed of millet. This would greatly generate support, as other forms of millet are being consumed as food.

Side effects from that might arise from the consumption of such engineered food products and which might be worse off than the initial problem to be solved, should also be taken into consideration before the recommendation is instituted by the government. Furthermore, the government needs to ascertain if the farmers would be willing to pay more to get these seeds and if inhabitants are welcoming of this engineered breed, as millet is already a staple food in Tagus, hence it is more likely that people will not accept the new variety as they already have other varieties that to them, serve the same purpose as the new one.

In all, the government needs to confirm the credibility of the international development organization, that is, if they are recognized by and/ or like the World Health Organization (WHO) and know if they are worth going into such delicate partnership with, as this case involves human lives.