The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The argument 'Manned space flight is costly and dangerous', I can agree to be true, as witnessed over the years in man's pursuit and nations' quest to be the first to dominate the skies. Till date, huge sums of money, are being invested into space flight and space travel, with countries like USA, Russia and China leading the race, and more often than not, these efforts turn futile due to accidents resulting in huge losses. However, these ventures, I believe are driven out of a need for research and to learn more about the universe we live in.

Upon the advent of space travel, series of unmanned space flights werre conducted, to ascetain the safety of such efforts. And whn these unmanned flights were found convenient enough, manned flights began. While I might also agree that the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space, I beg to differ, and hereby assert that the need for manned space flights cannot be overemphasized, as not all space walks and operations can be conducted remotely, and without the help of a human onsite. This can be due to various factors ranging from the irregular surfaces that might require soem movement on.

Furthermore, Neil Armstrong - on stepping onto the moon's surface in 1969 is known to have stated, 'This is one small step for a man and one big step for mankind'. This giant feat would not have been possible had manned space flight not been encouraged. With the current need to build a space station, man's role in making this a success, is also very essential. Male and female astronauts alike, who hav undergone years of training, as well as planetary scientists need to man some of the space flights to conduct experiments of the location for the space station. Engineers would also be required for constructions, and other professionals would be essential for the success of the project.

In addition to this, it should be known that, just as there are successes of unmanned space probes and satellites, there are also failures. Thus, manned flights would be required to test run, trouble shoot and effectively correct such errors - with a human touch - and in such a way that machines and robots are incapable of. Also, for the fact that a great deal of information has been gathered and can still be gathered without instituting more manned flights, this does not mean that mankind would stop learning about the workings of his universe. Hene the necessity for more manned flights.

Considering costs, I can argue that the cost differences in manned and unmanned flights are relatively negligible, and largely equal. Manned flights require just about the same space shuttle and equipment as unmannd flights and come with an added benefit of better judgement or decision-making while in space.

In conclusion, th need for more manned flights is essential and should not be ignored, as man's goal to learn more abou the universe would not be enhanced and achieved, if manned space flights are stopped.