Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Based on these developments, we predict a large increase in the demand for heating oil. Therefore, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

The author of the letter is predicting an increse in the demand of heating oil in the northeastern regions of the United States. As a solution to the above prediction the author is suggesting the client to invest in the Consolidated Industries, whose major business trade is retail sale of heating oil. However, the writer has provided no concrete reasoning to the above prediction. There are numerous weak links in the letter which might contradicts the reasoning of the writer.

Firstly, the author has provided no proof that the oil is ineed used as major fuel of heating. How can one assume the fuel usuage without any genuine statistical data. There is no mention of any research or survery that supports the usuage of oil as major fuel for heating. Also, the traditional fuel might not be the only fuel used by residents. They may have several other options to keep them heated. For example, almost every home in the US is equipped with a chimney. So residents might use woods for their heating purpose.

Then the writer highlighted that the same region had experienced temperature below average for twenty days in the last year. The author makes another prediction about the weather pattern citing the local weather forecasters. Again, the authenticity of predicted weather pattern is not mentioned. There is no mention of scientific surveys done by those forecasters that might support the assumption. How can one predict the weather pattern of next twenty years from the temperature data of mere 20 days? The answer of this question is clearly not explained by the author, which eventually makes the above prediction baseless.

Then, the writer links increased numbers of new homes directly with the demand of oil. What if the new homes built are already equipped with new heating technologies and they do not have any need of traditional fuel for heating? There is, perhaps, no clear relationship between the new developments with the fuel demand. Newly built homes may have no impact on oil demand, which eventually mean that there is no need of any new investments in the firm.

In the concluding line, the writer recommends investment in the Consolidated Industries. Even if, there may be an increase in demand in oil, but why should one invest only in Consolidated Industries? Retail sale of heating oil might be their major business activity, but that does not make them perfect fit for any investment. The writer, again, has clearly not mentioned any strong reasoning. The major activity of any firm does not make them a prefect choce of customer. There is no mention of achievements of Consolidated Industries in the market of home heating oil. Are they the highest sellers of heating oil? The write make no such mentions. Hence, Consolidated Industries may not be a preferable choice for the residents of northeastern regions of the United States.

Hence, from the above agruments, I conclude that the writer has not mentioned enough valid points that support the recommendation. The writer must provide more strong and genuine proofs, in order to drive inverstments towards the Consolidated Industries.