Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement claims that for the growth and development of major cities, the government must provide them sufficient financial support. However, I am not completely agreeing with the reason provided for the claim. Scope of the claim is greatly generalized and is based on premise of weak reasoning. How can only cities are responsible for preservation and generation of that nationa's cultural traditions? The reason does not completely hold the accurateness in many context.

One cannot say that only major cities hold the nation's cultural trends. What about the rural arts and traditions? Many a times, a nation's cultural pride is upholded only by its villages. The richness and diversity seen in rural localities might not be found in the major cities. For example, in India, many villages of Rajasthan and Gujarat are the epitome of cultural dresses like the famous 'Bandhani'. This not only implies to India, but across the globe, history has proved that the best of all arts were alawys born in the rural and not in urban culture.

A nation's cultural trend is not always generated in the urban cities. Infact, it is the rural-side of the country where cultural trends are born. For example, the tradition of Garba or Bhangra were developed mostly in the rural locatities of Gujarat and Punjab respectively. Today's urbane localities might uphold them, but those trends were no generated there.

Another major flaw in the claim is its weak linkage of financial support with cultural trends' preservation. How firmly one can assert that the adequate financial funding will ultimately preserve and generate cultural norms.? The whole financial funding of any major city might not be centered around its cultural trends. The urban cities have their own series of financial needs that may not have any direct linkage with the cultural trends. Even if adequate funding is provided to them, there is no gurantee that the cultural trends will be preserved. For example, the city of Delhi needs more urbane plans like roads, bridges and public transportation facilities. Any amount of access funding might gets directed to those mentioned plans, rather than the cultural preservation.

Even after the above stated agruments, we must not forget the 'other side of the coin'. There are various examples where major cities indeed played an important role in preserving country's cultural norms. The best example is the ancient city of Rome. The Rome is currently recognised as the centre of Roman culture. The proper financial support to this historic Roman city has lead to preservation of architectural culture of Italy. The above reasoning support the claim upto certain extent.

Thus, from the above claims and arguments one may conclude that connecting major cities with nation's cultural trends is a vague claim. There is a possibility that urban centres might hold influential cultural norms, but providing them adequate financial fundings may not gurantee its preservation and generation.