In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Here the author has first highlighted a study that shows the reading habit of students of University of Waymarsh. The study concluded that most of the studetns prefer literary classics as their reading material. Then, the author showed the results from another study by same researchers and concluded that mystery novel is the most frequently checked out genre in each of the public liberaries in Waymarsh. The author is arguing that the students of Waymarsh University misrepresented their reading habit.

However, by comparing the reading habits of university students with the entire readers of public liberaries of Waymarsh, one cannot derive the above conclusion. The sample space used in the second study inclueds readers from different age groups, while the first study includes only university students. The reading preferences might changes according to the respective age groups. If more people other than the students of Waymarsh visits the public liberary then the preference of former group might influence the results of the second study. It is not necessary that the choices of university students affect the checked-out genres of the public liberaries.

There might be a possibility that students from the university never preferred to reach out to the public liberaries for their reading activities. They might get their book of choice from the university liberary itself or they might prefer e-books over hard-copy. Hence the students of Waymarsh University might have no role to play in the second study. Their choice of readings might actually have no influence, even if it contradicts the second study.

Also, there can be an unavailability of literary classics in the public libraries. Even if majority of readers are indeed interested in reading literary classics, but the possibility of its unavailability might force them to check out other genres, especially mystery novel. Even if classic novels are available, their numbers might be much lesser as compared to the mystery novels, which eventually influences the results of second study.

Thus from the above reasoning one can conclude that the argument represented by the author might not lead to an accurate result. One cannot directly regard the choices of students of Waymarsh University as misrepresented.