In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material However a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of b

The author in the argument states that the respondents in the first study faked their choice of reading novels which is based on certain evidence presented about the number of books checked out of public library. At first glance, the author’s argument might seem persuasive but upon perusing it, one can find that it is based on innumerable assumption which makes the argument flawed.

To begin with, the author posits the study conducted to be reliable and absolutely flawless. There is no evidence regarding the statistics of the survey which would make the argument stronger. For instance, if 100 people responded that they preferred literary classics, at first it might seem to be a huge number but if the survey was conducted on, say, 500 people then the number is actually very small. Similarly, there is no evidence regarding the number of books checked out from the public library, what were the types of books, how many of them were classics, mystery, romance, or science fiction? What is the age group of these people? If the survey was conducted on young people then they may usually prefer mystery noverls, on contrast, if it was conducted on senior citizens then they may like the classics better. This data is crucial for reaching to a particular conclusion.

Secondly, the author assumes that the second study was conducted on the same group of respondents, if it is otherwise the results from both the studies ought to be different. For instance, it may happen that majority of first respondents were language students of the University, in which case it is highly probable that they like classics. On the other hand, the second group of respondents might have been law student at the University, in which case they would be most naturally inclined to mystery novels. Observations from one set of respondents cannot be applied to other set of respondents. If this assumption is true then the argument would not hold water.

Finally, the author takes into consideration that people who check out with mystery novels actually read, or for that matter, like mystery novels. It may be that majority of the citizens of Waymarsh are discovering the mystery novels due to some anomaly. Maybe there is a film that is recently released about mystery thrillers, which made citizens excited for a short period of time in these kind of novels. Whereas, in reality after reading these novels they find classics better. If these assumptions were to be true then it would significantly weaken the author’s argument.

In conclusion, at the moment the author’s argument is based on excessive number of assumption and if any of the assumptions were to be true then it would significantly weaken the author’s argument of the first responders misrepresenting. For him to conclude this, the author must provide more conducive evidence.