The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author is trying to highlight that the best way to analyze the contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth. However, one cannot simply rely on the trends among the youth to analyze any contemporary culture. Culture is something that goes on from one generation to the next. Hence, the elders and adults of any society might plays an important role in their respective cultures. Also, the term culture itself includes a wide range of activities and arts. Many of the ancient or heridetary art forms are preserved mostly by the elders of any society. It might take some time to became that art as a part of youth's trend. Perhaps, one can conclude that the trends among the youth might not be the most effective way to analyze any culture.

The trends among the youth is greatly influenced by the era or time period they were born. The current trend of youths might have a vast difference from the trends among the youths several decades back. In other words, anything that was a part of culture few years back may not be the part of same culture in present era. Youths are mostly attracted towards the trend they prefer or consider to be entertaining. Their choices or inclination towards any trend might not showcase the contemporary culture as a whole. The current trends among the youth, as stated above, might only be the result of influence of the era they are living. Times changes, so does the culture.

This brings us to another point that the trend of any culture might not be static. The contemporary technology and art forms might play an important role in defining the culture of any society. The youths of any culture indeed plays an important role in shaping the culture as they are the ones who will be highly affected and influenced from the on-going trends of the present era. Also, in many societies, there may be more number of youths than the adults. Hence, their influence on culture will be more sounding than those of adults or elders.

Again, as mentioned above, culture is something that is heridetary. Hence to keep the culture moving forward to the next generation, the youths must consider it as a part of their trend. If younger generations are not pursuing any art from their culture than that form of art has a higher chances to became extinct in a next few years. This indirectly indicates the influence of youths in the contemporary culture. If something youths are not pursuing then that thing might not remain part of their culture in the upcoming years. One can perhaps derive that the trend among the youths clearly shows the future or the current condition of their culture in many cases.

Hence from the above reasoning, one can conclude that trends among the youth might indeed plays an important role in analyzing the contemoprary culture. But one must also keep in mind that the other factors like time period, form of art or the number of youths also plays a role in defining the culture.