"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily the daily use of Ichthaid, a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil , as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism." Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument.

A memo that appeared in the newsletter of West Meria public health council

argued that an innovative treatment which included nutritional supplement

derived from fish oil was found for common cold which is assumed to be the

main reason for absenteeism at schools and workplaces. This argument is rife

with flaws as it stands.

Firstly, a study in the nearby east Meria is taken into consideration where

high fish consumption is being related to low doctor visits by patients for

colds every year. This is not the case because although fish contain a lot

of important vitamins and minerals they however are in no way related with

the disease of common colds. Moreover, if we assume that fish do help with

common colds in some way there is no guarantee that absenteeism will go down

if people start eating fish regularly.

Further, it can be said that the reasons for absenteeism in schools can be

due to its curriculum and due to lack of interest in students for learning.

Instead, the schools must take steps to inspire and motivate its students

towards learning and the issue can be resolved. At workplaces people can

have serious reasons for absenteeism and it cannot be related with having

colds in the first place.

Though colds are the most common reason given for absence the council

should try reading between the lines and realize that people use colds

as an excuse because it is the most easily believable and simple reason.

Also, the use of nutritional supplements doesn't directly target common colds,

rather taking precautions during changing weathers, protecting one self with

warm clothes, maintaining proper hygiene can be the steps to counter common

colds assuming that they are one of the reasons foe high absenteeism.

Since, this argument contains too many flaws it doesn't support the council's

decision in any way and should be reevaluated.