Jazz Music Club

Developers claim that opening a jazz music club in Monroe will be an extremely profitable venture. The arguers cite successful show attended, the highly rated radio program and the annual amount spent on jazz nationwide as evidence.True, the presented evidence give encouraging prospects of this venture. However, more research needs to be done to be certain. The arguments claim is based on unjustified claims that attended, shows, highly rated radio programs, and average spending on fans indicate a ready market, thus, unless sufficient evidence is provided, the argument remains unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly, the argument used the attendance of a concert as proof. True, a large number of people at music concerts indicates the popularity of that particular music. After all, people only attend shows of music that they enjoy. in short, attendance of music concert is a good indicator of a ready market. However, this claim is based on the assumption that all the fans that attended the show reside in Monroe. It is common for people to travel across towns to attend music concerts. so how do we know where all the people reside. If the majority of the people who attended the concert where people from other towns, this would invalidate the assumption made by the group of developers. Furthermore, the argument rests on the assumption that high attendance of music concerts indicates ready market for the club. But, one thing for sure is a club and a concert are two different things. it is possible that people may enjoy attending music concerts and not like clubs, and therefor unlikely to go to any clubs. In order to put the argument on a more sound footing, the arguers must provide evidence that all the concert goers are residents of Monroe and also show prove that the people who attended the concert are interested in the jazz club.

The radio program is a good indicator of popular, though based on many assumptions. Highly rated programs certainly means that people do enjoy the programs. However does that directly translate to evidence of people coming to the club? what if the radio listeners are from distant towns? radio channels are not confined to one town. It is likely that listeners are from other towns. The argument rests of the assumption that the listeners are from within the town or close proximity to the proposed area for building the club. If majority of the of the listeners are more distant towns, there is a strong likelihood that music club wont be as profitable as assumed. In order to validate the claims, the developers need to demonstrate , by showing that the radio listeners reside in close proximity to the site of development of the club

Finally, the conclusion rests of the assumption that the music fans in Monroe will spend as much as the nationwide average. Yet, it is known that different towns tend to have different economic status. Unless, figures showing that Monroe is also of equal economic status as other towns where fans spend at least $1000 yearly on music. There is no way of justifying this assumption. What is the town Monroe is a low income town. This would mean that most people wont afford to spend as much as other high income towns on music. To justify the claims, the author needs to provide data showing that Monroe is a high income town and the people can afford to spend $1000 on music.

In conclusion, the developers argument rests on assumptions that attendance of the music concert, highly rated radio program will directly translate to the success of the club. More evidence to be provided to substantiate the claims.