Decision making in groups

The beauty of life is in the fact that humans are different. The way things are perceived is different from one person to another. This may be a good phenomenon, however, it brings about a dilemma. How then can we come to a conclusion if everyone holds divergent views. Different methods are employed to come to a consensus when divergent views are presented. Others prefer voting where the majority side is preferred, and others prefers coming to a consensus. Though the majority rule comes with many merits, coming to a consensus is a much more efficient method and fosters unity in a group much better.

The majority is not always right. The use of majority wins is used in many different group settings. The idea being that, if a significant proportion of people are in favor of something then it must be the best side. This may seem like the most logical conclusion. However, many examples show us that this is not always the case. For example, in some democracies, a governing system that selects leaders through majority voting, there has been account of bad laws being implemented and incapable leaders being elected solely because the majority of the electorates voted in their favor. In 2003 a statistics by the central intelligence showed that 90% of the worlds democracies elect leaders who are not capable of the tasks due to the majority rule. So, it is clear to see that the majority are not always right. Sometimes the minority may have valid point, but due to lack of enough numbers, will have their opinions disregarded.

The main advantage of coming to a consensus is that everyone is satisfied. The process of coming to a consensus involves hearing opinions of everyone . When peoples views are heard and taken into account, the members of the said groups feel important. Even when the opinions are divergent, discussing and reaching a middle ground will at least not segregate anyones opinion. China , uses the method of coming to a consensus when making important laws in the national assembly and this has brought harmony in the national assembly. Clearly, coming to a consensus brings about unity even when views are divergent.

Others may argue that coming to a consensus may compromise with the correct decision that has to be made. It is true that coming to an agreement in a group having divergent views means finding a middle ground. in some cases some view may have a totally incorrect view, but in order to come to a consensus , the incorrect view will still be taken into account , adulterating what would be the correct decision. However, this is usually not the case, in some cases, the view can still be disregarded as long as the section in the group that holds an incorrect view is educated and corrected. japans national assembly uses this method to come to an agreement by educating sections that hold views considered incorrect.

In conclusion, coming to a consensus in group is beneficial as it brings more harmony by taking account of everyones views. In addition the majority rule has it own merits however, the majority are not always right.