A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. In addition, there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly.' Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. We therefore predict that the C Note cannot help but make money.

The author of this argument claims that opening a jazz music club is lucrative. However, the author fails to provide readers with sufficient evidence.

First, the memo states that there is no jazz music club nearby in Monroe. Still, readers need the information of the probable location of this new jazz music club. If this club is on a place few people walking by, there is no hope that the club will be profitable, because no one knows its existence. Besides, we also demand the average number of walkers passing by this area. Without this average number, we are hard to know the number of potential customers here is enough to support a jazz music club.

Secondly, the author claims that a famous jazz festival attracted many tourists here last year to justify jazz is popular in Monroe. However, authors need further proof about the average number of tourists each year to persuade readers. Only one high record does not necessarily imply that the high popularity of jazz music in Monroe is long-lasting. Even granted that this jazz festival actually entices a large number of people to visit Monroe, we do not know that this jazz festival brings a steady flow of tourists. If tourists only come here for jazz music once a year, a club cannot survive without a steady stream of customers each month.

Thirdly, the author cites a national report that reveals a typical jazz fan has high purchasing power. Still, the author fails to show the average amount of money a jazz fan in Monroe will spend on jazz-related products or services. Without more details of this report, we cannot conclude that average number the author shows in this argument is similar to the average number of a jazz fan in Monroe will spend. It is because that the difference between each area may be significant.

To strengthen this argument, the author would have no provide more information as above mentioned.