Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space.

The letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine presents the conclusion that it is feasible to invest the resources in unmanned space flights instead of manned space flights. The reason that the author has provided to bolster the conclusion is that manned space flight is costlier and dangerous than unmanned space flights. Moreover, the author also mentioned that there is great success achieved recently by sending unmanned space flights and probes. However, while the conclusion is drawn by the author, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically attenuate the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, several points need to be addressed.

Firstly, the author has completely denied answering the question that, why manned space flight is costly and dangerous? The author has simply provided the readers with a statement without providing enough pieces of evidence to espouse his statement. It might be possible that the equipment or the resources that are being used by the astronauts are not maintained or might be using cheap quality products that will eventually lead to greater risks. Hence, to avoid risk it would be feasible to use the best quality resources.

Secondly, the author described that the achievements gained in using unmanned space flights and probes have been immense recently. However, the author has failed to notice the earlier success rate of manned space flight. There is nothing mentioned about the success related to manned space flights in the letter. There have been many successful events in history like Apollo 11 which was a manned space flight that orbited the moon twice and had returned safely back to Earth. This example negates the statement that "Manned space flight is dangerous."

Moreover, if men and women are sent to space, it would be a great opportunity and experience for them, if we think as a career prospect. The example of great astronauts such as Kalpana Chawla, Sunita Williams, etc, helps to explore the teenagers to get into the field of astrology. This might be one of the reasons that manned space flights must be given enough importance than unmanned space probes.

A careful analysis exposes the loopholes present in the argument of the author. The arguments do not seem to be strong enough to buttress the conclusion of investing the resources in unmanned space flight because all the reasons provided by the author are dubious and questionable. Hence, the author must rethink and present a logical and foolproof solution.