“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The letter to the editor of national aeronautics magazine provided that the aeronautics team should invest resources in unmanned space flight. The opponents have come to this conclusion based upon the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites. However, before this recommendations can be properly evaluated, the following questions needs to be answered.

Firstly, the author has stated that Manned space flight is costly and dangerous but they haven't mentioned abput the cost to send the men to space and also the level of treacherous is not stated by the author which makes it difficult to reach up to a conclusion as why sending men to space is costly and dangerous. There is a possibility that the unmanned space probes and satellites designed can be far more expensive than sending men to space. What if the cost of making the staellite is less but the quality of product is compromised. Without proper figures and evidence this assumption cannot be scrutinisedand hence it is flawed and unjustified.

Additionally, the author states that recent success is achieved by sending series of space probes and satellites with low cost and low risk but the earlier satellites cannot determine the success of upcoming satellittes. There is a possibility that the the earlier satellites were designed by advanced scientist and the job was done meticulously but what if the upcoming satellites are designed by young and fledgling scientist? The risk of sending unmanned space sateliite will promulgate if the above possibility might occur. The cost for sending unmanned space satellites is not mentioned by author which makes the fact dubious to compare with manned space sateliite without knowing exact figures.

Further, the author prompts that the useful information was gathered by unmanned space satellites but what if the satellites are running on a predefined algorithm so the ammount of information gathered will be narrow and limited. Also, sending men to space might gather more information than satellites as humans are more smarter than computers. Hence, if any of the above scenario might occur then conclusion drawn in the original argument is weakened.

To recapitulate, the above arguments are based on unjustified assumptions which needs further evidence and convincing to support the arguments. If the author is able to answer the above questions then it is viable to send unmanned space satellites rather than manned space flight. Until then, it will be dubious to draw any conclusions.