The best way for a society to prepare its young is to instill a sense of both competition and cooperation.

Leadership is one the most fundamental skill which should be present in each and every person. Young people are often considered as the future of our nation so the prosperity of the nation is in the hands of the young leaders. The proponents prompts that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry is by instilling sense of cooperation not competition. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the author due to following reasons.

Firstly, a society is always run in a subtle way if the leaders have a sense of cooperation with their fellow members in order for the well being of the society.

For example, during the medieval ages nations were ruled by plutocrates and oligarchic leaders. Since those leaders had a sense of competition as who will rule the nation, the welfare of the citizens were harmed and a steady decline was seen in the development of a nation. The above example illustrates that if the country would have lead by democracy instead of oligarchy people of the nation would have cooperated with the government. Hence, the society should be keen on preparing young people with sense of cooperation to forsee a better outcome eventually.

Additionally, In this advanced and intricate society every individual is a competitor and tries to seek the highest position by all means. For instance, a young Cricket captain is the leader of his team but in order to win the match he should cooperate and appreciate the senior teammates opinion rather than compete with them and take selfish decisions to secure his captaincy in the team. Cooperative leaders strives a society or team way more further than competitive leaders as a sense of cooperation engenders confidence, trust and hope. Hence, young people should always get the best out of it from cooperation and not from competition.

Obviously, there will be some who will argue that competitive leaders bring a change in the surrounding which is transient and also forgets to take into consideration the well being of his fellow members. The rest will agree to the author that the betterment of society is well determined by cooperation on a longer run. Hence, In my opinion the prompt of the passage is highly inclined towards the agreement that young people should choose cooperation over competition