College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

There might be plethora of students enrolled in the field of study where job's are available in abundance. Out of those students only few have passion towards the field of study while the rest are the ones who are seeking for a high income and valuable job which is the need of the time. The prompt of the essay is that students should choose to accept the field of study according to availability of the job. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the author's assertion as field of study keeps on vacillating according to the need of the time.

Firstly, the students who pursue their studies needs to have a keen interest and passion towards their field as those are the subjects which are going to be their quotidian job for the next three decades. For instance, an employee is often indolent towards his job not because he is lethargic but due to lack of interest. No individual is lazy when it comes to a predilection for performing a job. The above example illustrates that having an enthusiasm and eager to learn attitude is must as that is the only key to survive in this highly competitive world.

Secondly, a decade ago computer industry was a boom and trending which produced a myriad jobs but in this ever changing world the automobile industry was supplanted by the artificial intelligence and a exponential shift of this market has led to unemployment in the field of computer industry. Hence, in order to sustain in this current volatile industry one has choose their study according to their interest.

Further, even if we assume that job shifting is not dynamic one has to still pursue his or her interest as happiness lies above. Happiness plays a crucial role in determining the efficacy of his or her work. Success in only achieved by industrious people as interest and having an inexorable attitude is a key component here.

Obviously, some might argue that in this increased globalized market with skyrocketing jobs one should choose practical path. However, it isn't that precisely why we should follow our interest? if we do so we are capable of competing at the highest level. One who ignore their inner voices do so at their own peril.