Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

The referenced article takes note of current positions in context of the demand for heating oil, and based on present standings,comes to conclusions that suggest a probable increase in the demands of the same. The article makes a number of explicit as well as implicit assumptions, all of which are crucial to analyze the argument in its entirety. As such, it is appropriate to enumerate and afterwards scrutinize them:

• Decreased average temperature rates and increments in the number of residencies in Northeastern United States will necessarily lead to an increase in heating oil demands. This statement is inferred from the existence of the tradition of using oil as fuel for heating.

• The decreased temperatures will incentivize the demographic to solely rely on oil as a heating fuel. Closely related to this implicit assumption is that the new residencies will also follow the established trends and resort to oil for heating their homes.

• Consolidated Industries are likely to continue their trend of having their major business operation as the retail sale of home heating oil and are unlikely to pursue other novel businesses.

Now that we have dealt adequately with the nuances of the article, we may now critique the assumptions and search their subtleties for potential errors/ misconstructions.

Firstly, as assumption one and two are inter-related, we shall consider them a single unit. These two assumptions, although likely to be correct for the statistics are in their favour, are not correct necessarily. It may very much be the case that the social paradigms are transformed and the residents of the states in question are able to utilize more efficient and effective means of home heating , and as a consequence, decrease the extent of their reliance on heating oil, which would drastically reduce the demand of such. Similarly, the future residents of these regions may also adopt the more efficient means of heating and further reduce the demand of heating oil.

The third assumption also commits a fallacy similar to that committed in the first two assumptions- it implies that current trends are to remained unchanged in the coming future. It doesn’t account for the possibility of consolidated industries resorting to other operational mechanisms and discontinue that which is in vogue. One may expect that such industries might observe the effects of the inferences drawn in the preceding paragraph and as such deviate from their normal modus operandi.

Thus, as is evident, the fundamental issue with the article is perhaps its overly idealistic and optimistic perception of the affairs of the future and due to this, fails to account for all possibilities that may not be very favorable to its current standings. However, at the same time, one must state that the assumptions made by the article aren’t entirely quixotic. They definitely possess measurable logical grounding and hence, might come out to be true. But as it stands, the article does not succeed in fully contrasting the differing perspectives of the matter at hand.