A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument concludes that arranging extra money will make a movie better in quality and to prevent its failure. The premises cited to support this are saved money will help to pay actors and crew for extra hours they will spend in waiting. The argument stands weak due to some fallacious assumptions and ignorance of other factors.

Firstly the most fallacious assumption the argument makes that increase in funding to pay the actors and crew for the extra hours they spend in waiting will increase in quality of movie. There stand no logical connection between the two. A movie quality and success depends on a good story line, how actors performed and how the movie reciprocated with the audience. Even with the increase in funding will not directly imbibe such qualities. The argument stands weak if the assumption stood unwarranted

Secondly, the argument assumes that the director who has been shooting commercials which was notoriously wasteful till date if given a chance to shoot a film will shoot take after take without any concern about the time of a scene. Well everyone gets tired after some work. Its hard to expect anyone to do continuous work without any break unless its a robot. The shoots for a movie can be very difficult then shoots taken for a commercials. If a director had to shoot in humid arid land or in some desert then it will be very difficult to take continuous shoot. A shampoo commercial director had most of the time had to shoot indoor not outdoor. he assumption that director will be able to shoot take after take stands weak and can more probably increase the production time.

The argument also assumes that money saved hiring inexperienced assistants and directors will not cause any effect in quality of the films. The director of the movie who stays with the crew most of the time and shoots the entire money play a pivotal role in the movie even if he/she is not present. It is the director who takes the decision on how to shoot a scene in best possible way, encourages actors to perform stunts and help in maintaining the coherence in the movie. A inexperienced director can substantially degrade the quality even if he got best possible actors, story-line etc. Hence the argument wrongly assume money saved in hiring inexperienced director to spend to actors and crew will not cause any degradation in quality of the film.

Hence the argument stands weak due to some fallacious assumptions. The argument can be strengthened if it properly justifies above assumptions.