n surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement above assumes that after the government clean up the Mason River, the use of the river for water sports will sure increase. Therefore, the city government should devote more money into the riverside recreational facilities. This is a baseless assumption that the city government made. There are several concerns need to be addressed before the goverment attempt to move on further action.

First, the survey indicates that water sports are ranked top three sports among Mason City residents. One question need to be answered is that whether the survey is thorough or not. If the majority participants of this survey are male at there 50s, then it's highly possible that fishing and boating become the favorite sports. If the majority of the participants are femals at their 40s, maybe yoga would be their favorite sports. Therefore, before have a survey with participants range through all gender and all ages, it's unsafe to conclude that swimming, boating and fishing are actually the top three sports among Mason City residents.

Furthermore, it is said that there are complains from residents for years about the river's quality and smell. Therefore, the statement assumes that the reason prevent people from using river for sports is the bad water quality. This assumption is also foundless. What if the there isn't any fish in the river? What if there are lots of rocks and water plants that makes the river not suitable for swimming and boating? Water quality can be one reason that stop people from using the river for recreation purpose, but there might be other reasons lying out there. Before giving a research, the city park department should not make a move.

Last but not least, cleaning the river and improve the water quality will be a long process, therefore, a lot of money will be needed in order to complete this project. There rise the question, where does the government gets the fund? Mostly, the fund will come from the local residents of Mason City. So, this would be another question whether the local residents from Mason city willing to pay for cleaning the water or not.

In general, there are many assumption in the statement, without further research, the Mason City Governemnt can't simply assume that by renovate the water quality, more people will use the river recreation purpose.