One year ago, Glengood Health Center in Turnville decided to start a health awareness program for its community. Since that time, Glengood’s share of patients in the Turnville area has significantly increased. Further, a nationwide survey indicates that many people in the country are greatly interested in such awareness programs. Citing these facts, the director of Carson Health Center in Poway has recommended Carson should also start such health awareness programs of its own to attract more patients from its community.

The recommendation provided by the director of Carson Health Center in Poway may seem to be a logical and well-thought argument to better the health centers market share at first, however, the recommendation is rife with holes and assumptions that may prove to cause more problems to the health center if the right questions are not asked and answered before implementing any such policy.

The recommendation states that Glenwoods share of patients in the turnville area had increased over the year since they had started a health awareness program in its community. However, the director incorrectly assumes to cause and effect relationship between the aforementioned events that had happened. The main question that must be raised here is whether the exact and only cause of Glenwoods increase in patients is due to the health awareness programs or are there other underlying reasons involved as well. Glenwoods share might have been boosted to a certain extent by its health awareness programs however it could have possibly be boosted by the outbreak of a disease like dengue in the turnville area which saw an increased no. of people going to health centers. The answer to the questions needs to see the exact proportion of increased patients who go there to solely attend the health awareness programs. If this proportion is extremely high, then and only then a cause and effect relationship can be established between the increase of patients and implementation of health awareness programs.

There is also an argument about the results of a nationwide survey presented by the director citing the responses of people in the country to be interested in health awareness programs to be a solid reason of their implementation. However, the questions must be raised about whether survey respondents actually mean what they say on a random survey that they might have filled out on their way to the work in haste or in boredom without actually giving a proper glance at what all the questions in the survey said. Also, the question about the context of the survey must be raised as the survey could be asking respondents to give their thoughts on a Likert scale about the effectiveness of health awareness programs in case of a viral outbreak and those people may not show such interest if public health is not at risk and a future point of time.

Finally, what is the location and sample size of these respondents of the survey? The respondents could be from another part of the country which is more prone to diseases like dengue due to weather conditions and thus prompts the respondents to show their interest in health awareness programs. Even respondents from turnville area showing such interest may not be shared by people from the Poway area were Carson health centre is located. If not, then there should be a survey prompted by Carson health center amongst locals of their Poway area to truly understand the level of interest that lies in health awareness programs.

If any of the aforementioned questions remain inadequately answered it may lead to a large misspend of resources from the perspective of Carson Health Center. This will lead to a failed implementation of a recommendation which may not increase their share of patients while leading to a waste of financial resources for the center.