“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum from a business managers asserts that to attract viewers to the program and to restore the advertising revenue, the late night news programs will restore the time devoting to weather and local news. Here he asserts it on the basis of some assumptions: a) viewers are always concerned about the weather and local news. b) Local businessmen have cancelled the contracts only because of the lack the viewers of the late-night program.

Firstly, over the past year, there might some critical condition in that locality regarding weather. That region in which the television station positioned might have very critical weather condition. There may have a severe catastrophe, which is not properly telecasted in the late night news. People of that locality must be disappointed for the lackings of the proper news of the weather condition and its aftermath.

Furthermore, there might be some political events in that locality like election during the past year. The late night news did not have the coverage of that those events which is why they lose the local people as the viewers.

Moreover, over the past year, that late night news did not cover any critical event like local automobile accidents, accidents in any building construction etc. These are the reasons for the disappointment of the local viewers.

The local businessmen cancelled the contract because of the same reasons mentioned above. There may have a severe catastrophe which just destroyed the economic condition of that locality and the local businessmen are not just in a condition to contribute to the advertising revenue.

For these conditions mentioned above, the late night news has lost local viewers and business contract over past year. So before taking the decision of restoring the time for only local and weather news, the business management department should consider and investigate about the current situation and consider these situations as not perennial.