Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

it might seem axiomatic that devoting to weather and local news more is crucial to gather more viewers and avoid additional advertising revenues. To justify this argument, author cites that majority of complaints were about the concern regarding truncation of weather and local news, and recent cancellation of advertisement contract. While supporting the proposal, however, author makes several assumptions that cannot be taken for granted.

As a threshold matter, the argument hastily assumes that recent cancellation of advertisement contract was caused by the truncation of weather and local news. Although this might be the case, it is possible that the economical difficulty of the advertisement corporation or the national economical crisis might occur the cancellation. In this regard, restoring such length of the news cannot make any changes to the inclination of the other advertisement company, so that it cannot help to avoid losing any further advertising revenues. therefore, in order to bolster the argument, author should provide more informations about the precise reasons regarding the cancellation of the contract.

even conceding that the length of the local and weather news influenced advertisement company to cancel the contract, the author unfairly posits that people want local and weather news than national news just because the majority of complaints were about the truncation of the local and weather news. perhaps, people who complained are not enough that the poll might be unreliable. Or probably, there are many people who want to national news, but they did not complained after the length of national news had reduced. this might be a plausible circumstance, since when people who want national news notice that it had been reduced, they can just turn another channel in order to watch national news, but people who want weather and local news cannot just turn the other channel if there are not enough channels for the local news. In this case, restoring national news cannot make any difference to the total viewers of the channel. Hence, in order to make the argument more plausible, author should provide an additional and reliable survey to support the argument.

Finally, the argument is still dubious in that it relies on an unfair assumption: by solving the problem regarding to complaints, they can attract more viewers. this might be the case, however, solving the problem and attracting more viewers are two different matters. perhaps, original viewers might cut the channel right after they noticed that the channel truncated the local and weather news. probably, original viewers will not know the difference even after the channel restore the length of the weather and local news. Thus, author should provide plausible reason that restoring length of such news can attract more viewers.

To sum, since numerous assumptions that are unwarranted are applied to this argument, it remains fragile in its form. therefore, additional explanations regarding these assumptions should be provided.