The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

it might seem axiomatic that the Dura-Sock, inc. should discontinue use of the endure manufacturing process in order to increase their profit. To justify this argument, the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, inc. cites that average customer of Dura-Sock, inc. actually buys new socks every three months, and survey says that customers most value socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. While supporting the proposal, however, vice president make several assumptions that cannot be taken for granted.

As a threshold matter, vice president of Dura-Sock, inc. hastily assumed that the survey held is totally reliable. Although this might be the case, it might not be as a reliable source than they have thought. As they made the poll only for the largest market in northeastern United States cities, vice president did not consider any consumers who purchasing goods from Dura-Sock, inc. in other regions of the world. it is possible that people in northeastern us cities love the variety of colors available Dura-Sock, inc., since wearing socks with different colors every day is a general trend that only can be seen in northeastern us cities and no other company can serve various colors of socks. probably, people in northeastern us cities do not care much of the durability than in other regions in us, because they use specific laundry system that harm clothes much less than others. thus, regarding these probable situations, the poll taken might not be reliable. Though discontinuing use of the endure manufacture can be effective in certain region in us, it cannot help incorporation to increase their profits totally, since the survey held only in certain realm of the country. thus, vice president should give more reliable source regarding the survey held in order to bolster the argument.

Even conceding that the survey made is totally reliable around the country, it is still vulnerable in that vice president unfairly assumes that the fact in which the average customers of their incorporation buy their new goods by every three months indicates that they do not care the durability of the socks. however, it might be a mistake held regarding to the statistics. By averaging certain data, one can lose its meanings, which might be a exact circumstance as the one. Some consumers might buy tons of socks every two years. In this case, when the consuming patterns of those are equal, then they might buy 8 pairs of socks in every two years. regarding these examples, the statistics cannot be comprehended as the idea that people do not care about the durability of the socks. thus, it is not proper to regard consumers as people who do not pay any attention to the durability of their goods. Therefore, discontinuing use of the endure manufacturing process cannot help any increment of their profits.

In sum, since numerous assumptions that are unwarranted are applied to this argument, it remains fragile in its form. thus, vice president should think ways in which the argument to be more propulsive and persuasive by considering such assumptions mentioned above.